Audrey-on-sea

Went out to St. Leonards-on-sea last week for a bit of a seaside holiday, which was a nice break from the big city. It is amazing how calming I find big bodies of water and a bit of green space! The proximity to Hastings and its enormous cliffside County Park Nature Reserve was such a treat  - 264 hectares of green. Sigh. Bliss.

I had to start a new project for the trip, something a little less fussy than the ‘Lemon’ I started the previous week (those vertical braids are FUSSY). Thanks to a friendly gifting I had the lovely Audrey in Unst by Gudrun Johnston on the queue and had the perfect yarn in mind as well. I had tried swatching Rowan Purelife British Breeds Organic at Wool Week a few weeks ago wanted to knit up something with the lovely brown Blufaced/Suffolk/Jacob blend.

Swatched up on 4mm and it gave me exact gauge! Unheard of for me! It also stood up very well to my abrasion tests with only minimal pilling and no felting or matting to the fabric beneath. 3 cycles of abrasion and shaving and the yarn pretty well stopped pilling! Let’s hope it wears as well in real life.

I started a laborious tubular cast on and then the crossed rib a couple nights before we left and after an additional 2 hours of train journey still only had the few inches below at the end of the day! SO painful! I kept messing around with using an Eastern purl stitch to tighten up the ribbing (which twists the stitch on the needle but tightens the purl) and it took me an unbelievably long time to get a rhythm going.
start
Once I hit the stockinette it was all smooth sailing, though, and this was my progress by the end of the trip – starting the lace. Phew.buttons
I was determined to find vintage buttons for the cardi, as there are so many charity shops in St. Leonards and Hastings I thought it would be a sure thing! Unfortunately this wasn’t so, and I found most of the shops well picked over. Luckily, I did some googling and found an online listing for a haberdashery called Wayward, which would be opening at noon on the day were were meant to head back to London. Luckily I had just enough time between breakfast and the train…this is where I found the perfect vintage buttons above!


image from Wayward site – shown with additional lighting, styling and after a good clean! In real life it looks much more ‘junk shop’.

Dark, dusty and with things piled everywhere, this place was a treasure trove of vintage buttons, ribbons, linens, etc.! Apparently the fellow who own the shop uses the storefront as a storage area for his vintage wares which are sourced in France, which is why it is only open half days and 3 days a week – Thur, Fri, and Sat. The rest of the time the couple who have been running the shop since 1979, Andrew and Claudia Hirst, take their wares around to markets like Portebello’s and Brighton’s.

The buttons look like carved horn or wood but are actually plastic, which is fine as the colour is a perfect match for the yarn.
brown Paris
Nearly there.

7 thoughts on “Audrey-on-sea

    • It does seem to do the job, doesn’t it? Amazing. But I kept getting confused with the intentional twist and the other for the first while, which nearly drove me nuts! That and the fact that I was doing Eastern then would compulsively switch to English on some…so you can imagine! hah!

  1. Pingback: Frog free zone | From the Purl Side

Leave a Reply

