Endless Imogen

Don’t know WHAT is up with WordPress lately. Have they stopped updating the software or something? I just realised that this post below from weeks ago never went live.

Thanks post scheduler!!! Hmmph

Here it is, be-lately.

——-
I am STILL fumbling along with my Immie, and despairing a little at my choice of thicker yarn, as it has screwed me up quite a few times in this project!

Why do I do this to myself? This project was supposed to be a straighforward one.

I had finished the body with it’s complex lace and felt I was nearly done – then had troubles with the arms. Again. Too wide/too frumpy looking this time – so frogged and retried several times before giving up and going for short garter sleeves. I had to decrease awkwardly at the back of the arm to make them fit.

I have decided that arms/arm holes are my knitting Achilles heel (no sock pun intended!). I have to find a way to work them out better, as at the moment they seem to go buggy every time. The easiest time I have had with them was on my first cardi, Miriam. Ridiculous!

Thinking it through, it is likely because I actually – and here is the crux of it-  followed the pattern as written instead of modifying things.

Yeeesh.

Also in my list of pain and suffering on this project, I ended up frogging and redoing the neck AGAIN – 3rd go – as the bind off I used the first time was too stretchy and loose and looked horrid. The left image below is the yarnover bind off after blocking, believe it or not.

What a bubbly mess. The image on the right is the new, thicker edge with a K2tog bind off – BEFORE blocking. Tons better already.

I replaced it with a K2tog bind off – my new stretchy go-to for garter edges, which blends in a bit with the garter and gives a dense/solid but stretchy line. It is ok now, though I may still cover it up the whole nasty business with a thick cowl left over from the original sweater I frogged this yarn from.

The straw that broke my humpy camel back was when I tried it on after finishing the neckline and decided that and it feels a bit short for cold weather… so frogged the bottom, this time around, and tried adding a half repeat of Frost Flowers. However, I couldn’t seem to match up the pattern the other way around, nearly lost what is left of my mind, and gave up. I am now adding a thick garter border at bottom to match sleeves.

All and all, feel I have sort of botched this beautiful design a bit. It makes me sad, as I was so proud of getting that lace pattern done. Felt I had really reached a milestone…

…only to find that it has launched itself at me and cracked me in the chin.

I am hoping I can bring myself to redo it in the intended weight yarn with long sleeves one day.

2 thoughts on “Endless Imogen

    • So glad you said that. Sometimes I feel like I am getting caught in newer and deeper levels of nerd-dom as I obsess over the way my cast off’s and left leaning decreases look (ssk? skp? they both look sloppy to me. sigh).

      I even discovered something new this weekend that tipped the scales…I actually like swatching. Not as in swatching for gauge, but swatching for stitch combinations and playing with stitch dictionaries.

      EEEEK.

      Help me, Jo. ;-D

Leave a Reply

