Float-y

Having recently finished my first stranded colourwork project I naturally have a renewed appreciation for all things stranded. But is it strange that the thing that most impresses me about the process is the floats? I find the back of the work so pretty…sometimes much prettier than the front!

I have been noticing these ‘back to front’ stranded pieces for months now and look forward to the day I can do even enough stranding to show it as the ‘right’ side.

Look at these beauties:
Screen Shot 2013-06-23 at 10.00.39 Screen Shot 2013-06-23 at 10.01.09

Screen Shot 2013-02-17 at 01.37.15
sweaters above from Wilfred Free

I have been seeing this image below for ages now. Love it.

from Parc Boutique

Look at the amazing texture of these long floats! (I’d wager they would probably be a pain in the ass, though, catching on everything.)Screen Shot 2013-02-17 at 01.14.44
No. 21

Screen Shot 2013-02-23 at 16.30.56
Mango ‘killer’ pullover

One day.

11 thoughts on “Float-y

  1. I love the texture on the wrong side of Fair Isle too, but somehow I always feel that if I do all that work, the right side needs to show!

    Love that red with blue and white stripes cardi.

  2. My sister has a sweater that moves between right-side and wrong-side colourwork and it fascinates me! I love that contrast between neat stitches and patterned floats.

    • Oooh, that sounds pretty! It is all that nubbly texture variation of the floats that draws me in…you just want to reach out and touch. I can imagine how well it would work interspersed with smooth areas of colourwork as well!

  3. What an interesting idea… I never thought of this! I think I still prefer the right side, this is sorta grungey in a way, which is what makes it cool. I’m just not grunge, lol. (Grunge is so not the right word, hmm).

Leave a Reply

