Fashion Week inspiration

Like others I have been quite inspired by the Fashion Week hubub this year.

Here is a particular favourite, although maybe not in pink! (not this hue, at any rate)
Screen Shot 2013-02-15 at 21.57.39
J. Crew AW2013

(This is one of the many designs from J. Crew’s pre-fall 2013 that caught my eye… this knitwear in this collection is fantastic!)

For months I have been trying to figure out what I will make with the small amount of beautiful turquoise Habu N-80 I splurged on in October last year. It is enough for something small or needs to be combined with different yarn to make a full garment.

This turquoise/black number caught my eye, as well.
Screen Shot 2013-02-15 at 22.02.46
Tory Burch AW2013

I spent ages this weekend organising my Ravelry favourites queue on Pinterest so I could see it better and this free pattern just jumped out at me:


Sally Cardigan by Nikol Lohr

Are you thinking what I’m thinking?

6 thoughts on “Fashion Week inspiration

  1. There’s a similar pullover pattern in the Spring 2013 issue of Interweave Knits that I’ve been eyeing. I’m very new to knitting, and one of the things I love about it is how people figure out how to make off-the-rack clothing for themselves. I like your taste and, so far, I like your blog. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Sheena! I saw the sweater you are referring to…almost identical.

      It is colourwork, though, so would end up being a lot more work than the slip stitch version I picked. You’ll get the feeling of just how lazy I truly am if you continue to follow…

      ;-D

      I did take a fairisle workshop today, so feel a little more confident with the technique. Maybe I will give it a try. We’ll see…

      • Whoops, I should have assumed you’d seen that sweater. I also didn’t notice the difference in technique… I have so much to learn!

        I am so nervous about colour work. I’d really like to try soon, but I’m “procrastinating” by learning cables and short rows. One day, I’ll muster up the courage. Did you find fair isle easy to learn with a workshop? I’ve been working on my own up to now, but I’d consider investing in a class if it would help me learn quickly.

        • No worries. I was talking to a 78 year old woman yesterday who has been knitting since she was 10…and SHE was saying there was so much to learn!!!!

          I think that is the beauty of knitting. At least if you love learning!!

          πŸ˜‰

          I have had a terror of it as well, but managed my first hat a couple months ago on my own. And you know what it is pretty easy. I was shocked. You just have to give yourself the chance to make mistakes and try new things. The workshop yesterday was very hands off. They basically gave us yarn, a pattern and made us start. Then the woman – Sandra Manson from Jamieson and Smith – wandered around and answered questions.

          The best thing about it was talking to others about their attemps/experiences, sharing knowledge and trying out a new way to hold my yarn.

          I think you just have to DO, really! Go on Sheena!! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

