Taking the plunge

I have been so inspired by reading about the sewing projects that pop up on my regular blog reads that I am taking the plunge – properly this time.

No off the cuff skirts or free form alterations, as in past… I am going legit and have bought a pattern, Wiksten’s Tova.

image Wiksten

I am hoping that the last year+ of constant knitting has instilled me with more patience and that after many lacklustre and frustrating attempts in the past, will be able to pull it off this time

I picked up this length of vintage linen, below, while at the seaside a few weeks ago and the plan is to sew a sleeveless linen smock/shirt/shift-y dress. I plan to make a few alterations to make this a simpler, and therefore hopefully more successful, first attempt.
tova linen
I am going to use the wrong side of the fabric for the body of the dress and the brighter, printed side for the yoke and pockets. (I really love the faded ‘palimpsest’ effect of the dye soaking through the fabric and was drawn to the fabric when it was inside out! It is a faded orange and purple-ish grey that shimmers delicately together and reminds me of my favourite intaglio print from my undergrad)

Below is the pattern being pieced together as I bought the digital version online.
tova
I might actually finish this one! Fingers crossed.

A huge thank you to Gail, JoKristin and Karen for help and the gentle kick in the ‘seat area’ to give sewing another try through their inspiring projects and posts! And Gail – a big, huge thank you for pointing this pattern out as a slightly easier option than the Merchant & Mills Dress Shirt pattern I have been eyeing up for over a year!

8 thoughts on “Taking the plunge

  1. Ooooh! I’m so excited for you! I love the idea of using the wrong side of this fabric. I have a blazer I bought a few years ago that’s made in that way, and I’ve always wanted to do it but have never found a print with enough bleed-through.

    Can’t wait to see your finished dress!

    • It has been pretty smooth sailing! Could have finished today, but decided to use some purple bias tape and don’t have purple thread so have to wait until I can get somewhere with thread (which might be a bit. Peh. London shopping. What a joke.).

      I love that my partner looked at it and went ‘that is inside out, isn’t it?’. Hmmmph.

      ;-D

  2. I have also been thinking that this summer might be the time to give sewing a proper go. Between you and Kristin, I feel I have no excuse. I’m thinking the Wiksten Tank dress (with a little more shaping) might be where I start.

    • Well, I’ve got nothing on Kristin and her amazing tailoring and mods! But definitely give it a go…I have to say – it is really exciting to be able to plan clothing I could actually make now, instead of buy, even having just started! There is so much you could make that is simple.

      The Wiksten tank is definitely on my list.

      I have to say, I have been pleasantly surprised with how well it has gone so far. I have even put in some pockets and done french seams at the last minute and it just made sense after all the knitting. A really nice surprise.

  3. I’m very pleased to have been inspiring! I bet you’ll do great! What a cool plan. Funny, I was just looking at my fabric inside out other day and pondering using it that way. Cool!

    • I am on a total ‘new skill’ high and have been trolling for fabrics and patterns the last few days! What fun! I am finally going to have the ‘potato-sack-like’ dresses I have been longing for…!!!! (no. really). heh

  4. I like it! It is going to look so nice. Enjoy the process. As a sewer myself, I have had to teach myself to slow down and be in the moment when I sew. It is a very relaxing experience for me. And the end result is much more than I expected. Your fabric is just lovely and you will enjoy this tunic… m.

    • Thanks Maria. I think that was always my problem in the past. As a teenager I kept trying to make things in a day and failing miserably! Think I have finally cracked the patience barrier! Phew. Thought it would never happen…

Leave a Reply

