Silver bells part II

After nearly 4 hours spent on a train Saturday merely travelling to and from Leytonstone in East London to Croydon in South London my little vest has grown and is now halfway to the armhole!
half
I have decided to make my Nightingale Vest one bell shorter and start the neckline V a bell later as per Strikkemus’ suggestions in her project notes (I agree that the proportions will be a bit cuter that way and that the neck looks a bit long as is).

This is the plan:
plan
Starting the neck and arm decreases at the same time on row 8. I’d considered adding a bit of light waist shaping, but then realised I had already reached the waist at that point and it was too late. Hey ho.

Three glitches thus far, though live-able. Firstly, I got so engrossed in getting everything set up that I missed the first buttonhole, so have decided snaps it is! Second, I misread the set up instructions and added a crossed stitch right next to the last bell in the front panel so have this now:
cross
Luckily it just makes the bell on that side roll a bit more prominently which then hides the extra crossed row, so it is ok. Phew.

The other glitch is a little less ok. I somehow threw in a K2tog instead of an SSK in the row leading to the next bell…in the very first row!! And didn’t realise until I was a few bells up. 😦
glitch
Peh. I am hoping to do a bit of duplicate stitch magic at the end and hope it works!

3 thoughts on “Silver bells part II

  1. For the last mistake you show, I studied it carefully, and couldn’t spot it at all! Actually, I did something similar on my latest project and got all obsessed about it (doing s1k2togpsso instead of k3tog) and I did the same mistake 3 times before I noticed it. Anyway, my husband couldn’t spot it either, and when I painstakingly pointed it out to him, he said “not one in a BILLION people would spot that”. lol. Put it in perspective. But yeah, for my own satisfaction I did some dodgy duplicate stitch and it looks fine 🙂 This is looking great, keep going! 🙂

    • That makes me feel better. My partner said he couldn’t see it either…but…

      ;-B

      Thanks Jo. Unfortunately those sweet little bells seem to have done my wrists in, so am cut off from knitting until they heal. Peh. Wrists. Who needs em?

  2. Pingback: Silver Bells – part V…buttons, buttons, buttons | From the Purl Side

Leave a Reply

