Entering a new age

Welcome to the temporary new look for the blog.

I wanted to finally get a right side bar so that I could add a new feature – my new Twitter feed! I have finally caved and joined the conversation, so if you have an account join me for a chat. It is a bit of a learning curve, so forgive my little faux-pas…I am still trying to work it all out!

I guess this is a bit of a soft launch for the new company name as well – Kettle Yarn Co.! I will be moving the blog over to my shop site eventually, when I finally find the right WordPress platform, so if anyone knows of any good ones, please let me know. I have been searching for months now!

On the knit front, I have been getting on with a million things and have been neglecting to post images of my finished Buttercup. To be honest, I am a little underwhelmed with it after all the ribbing troubles, and still not completely pleased with how the ribbing looks or feels. This has nothing to do with the pattern which was clearly written and easy – the fault was all in my own mods and the superwash BFL I used, which is just a little too limp/lifeless in the end. I suspect a coated superwash process is used on this base, and I definitely won’t be carrying it!Kettle_Yarn_Co_buttercup4

I do like the way this colour turned out though. Very subtle change in tones.Kettle_Yarn_Co_buttercup_glacier

Looks great in the lace as well, which I modified to omit the purl rows in the Old Shale stitch. This variation on the stitch always feels a bit more delicate and less fussy to me.Kettle_Yarn_Co_Old_Shale

But the ribbing?
Kettle_Yarn_Co_buttercup_ribbing3

Definitely still the weakest link, and still looks a mess. sigh.

Hey ho. Onwards and upwards, as they say.

12 thoughts on “Entering a new age

  1. It’s still a lovely top. Is it possible to think of the ribbing add charmingly rustic? No? I hope you enjoy wearing it nonetheless 🙂 the overall effect is gorgeous!

    • Ta, Jo. I keep telling myself it is fine and have actually worn it quite a bit already as the weight is perfect for chilly summer nights, but have a feeling I am going to have to frog and finish the bottom with a folded hem someday. Just don’t have time right now!

    • Hi Diana,

      Thanks for trying to help! Unfortunately, whole fiasco started with twisted stitches which resulted in limp, horrible ribbing! It has just been a gong show. Think it is just the yarn…(or so I tell myself). Just not bouncy enough.

  2. Nice blog format. I think your top is lovely. The ribbing looks less uneven from a distance so just don’t give people a close-up! I love your version of old shale – the lace insert is really pretty.

Leave a Reply

