To finish or not to finish…

That is the question of the day. Ran across this abandoned WIP in a basket as I was doing some spring cleaning and just can’t decide if I should finish it.

hoot2

It is a modified Nocturnal Pullover by Cassie Castillo. I’d meant to add a neckline and ribbing around the arm holes, but never got around to it. Now I just wonder if I’ll ever wear it as it is so thick and itchy I am not sure it is really ‘me’.

What do you think? Yea or nay? Should I bother?

17 thoughts on “To finish or not to finish…

    • I think I should stop feeling guilty and just let it go, right?

      The thing is that the yarn was a gift from a dear friend, so I was determined to use it…but it is just too scritchy for me and I have so many lovely yarns to use these days that even finishing the edges seems like a waste of time.

      Sad isn’t it?

      Maybe I will take it to my knit night and see if anyone wants it!

      Thanks ladies!!

  1. Rip it back. If you haven’t returned to it in a year, your investment is minimal. More to the point, the minute you said “scratchy”, it was clear to me! I made a sweater I really like (using Cascade Heathers) and I NEVER wear it because it’s too thick (for my preference) and scratchy.

  2. It’s cute and a nice colour, but my advice would be if you are not 100% sure, let it go. Reclaim the yarn and pretend it never happened. I have done this with things I actually finished, such a relief!

  3. Rip it and repurpose the pretty yarn for something that isn’t going to go next to your skin. I’m currently knitting some super itchy Herdwick into a cushion cover.

  4. It’s definitely not the sort of pattern I’m used to seeing from you, but it is a lovely colour. From what you’ve said I doubt you’d wear it in it’s present state and you’d feel obliged to finish it, not what enjoying your limited knitting time is about IMO. So I’d frog and save the yarn for something where the itchiness is less important, and make something you’ll love with another yarn and pattern.

  5. I was gifted some itchy yarn from a dear friend and I decided to knit a bag from it so I wouldn’t have to worry about the itchiness of it. So I would also suggest ripping it back and knitting something that isn’t worn next to the skin.

  6. I’d say nay. If you wouldn’t wear it, toss it. I don’t say rib it as this is a whole other story. I’ve been through the same progress 2 or 3 times this year already and I know it’s a hard question. So if you don’t like the itchiness and think you won’t wear it ever decide to not finish it.

    Hope this helps 🙂

Leave a Reply

