Charm KAL and shop update

I had the good fortune the other day to try on the ‘small’, one skein, size of the shawl at Loop on Thursday. Not only did I get to try it on and discuss its construction with the designer herself, but Juju , bless her, then spent a goodly amount of time taking photos of me and finally managed to catch me not gurning! Amazing!

Linda in Charm

As you can see in the photo, the small is remarkably large and the crescent shape makes it perfect for covering that vulnerable v in most jackets that always leaves your neck freezing in cold weather. I think it even wrapped around three times!

I also found out when talking to Juju that the shawl is knit all-in-one, so there is no adding the trim at the end – perfect for lazy knitters like me – and much quicker for holiday gifts! Though she did say it would be very easy to stripe the body of the shawl and have a solid border, or to hold two yarns together for the body and one for the edge, like I’ve been thinking of doing all along.

For those of you that might of missed it I updated the shop on Saturday and there are now more fingering colours available for the Charm Knit A Long starting November 1st. There is more ISLINGTON and KENSINGTON and, last minute, I even dyed up some WESTMINSTER hand painted with a new colourway for the KAL (Hyde green shown below):

I know there are a few new people joining in the KAL and if you haven’t seen the group page already, check it out! Can’t wait to start!

10 thoughts on “Charm KAL and shop update

  1. The photo is just beautiful – both you and Charm looking lovely! But you are teasing those of us who thought we hade made up our mind about which yarn(s) to choose for the KAL 😉 I know only that I will decide the very last minute (ok, could always knit a second one)!

  2. You look smashing in this picture! The shawl is a perfect size and I’m glad to see how the small size of the shawl fits. Can’t wait to get started on the KAL. (I’m still waffling on Hyde – it keeps intruding in my thoughts. Strange since I have Florence to stare at and Brunel arriving soon!)

  3. oh my! love the photo, you look truly gorgeous, and it’s taken by juju and at loop. sigh. i’m afraid i have a not so small case of the envies. i think my yarn i ordered from you would work for this shawl? i’ll go check, otherwise i’m wondering if there is enough time to place a new order before the kal begins?

    i do know what you mean about showing one’s self, it is brave of you, but in the name of a perfect post, this is it. (smilely winky face).

Leave a comment