En Vogue

The sun is out as I type this, and though it is no warmer, I am going to pretend spring is truly on its way and finally post this ‘springy’ post that I wrote weeks ago on a deceptively warm week in early March.

I have been eyeing up some of the Vogue Knitting SS 2013 (Designer Knitting in the EU) projects for the last while and have finally decided to purchase it.
vogue knitting
I  don’t normally buy knitting magazines, and have a bit of a love/hate with them. It is a crying shame (and this might sound kind of harsh BUT) but most tend exemplify gnomey knitting so there are rarely projects that appeal to me.

This VK edition is a bit ‘Jekyll and Hide’. It contains a handful of fresh, attractive projects and at least 3 patterns that I will probably cast on, with a couple others that I could use elements of if I convert to in the round/contiguous top down etc.

On the darker, more ‘Hyde’ side – it also has a lion’s share of patterns that have gotten a good smacking with the gnome stick and are ‘old fashioned’ – to put it nicely- not only in their look, but also in their construction (tons of unnecessary seaming for light summer knits).

Having passed judgment, here is one of the pretty designs I am hoping to make at some point for spring summer wear- #21 Lace Batwing Top by Brooke Nico. After the imminent success of Sakura, I am hopping on the batwing bandwagon with a vengeance! (And yes, the perceptive in you might notice that the lace pattern is primarily chevrons. What can I say. I love me a chevron!)

One very cool thing that the VK team have started doing is posting videos of the finished samples on Youtube! This is a great idea. So even before people start making their own versions and posting on Rav, you can see the garment in 3-D on a person who is live and moving – no posed, pinned and static-ly styled shots. Brilliant.

Wouldn’t it be amazing if all designers started doing this with their patterns?

You can see the video here.

Leave a Reply

